My take on Starbuck

21Sep11

Patrick Huard as David Wozniak (aka Starbuck). Image credit: http://www.lindaleith.com

What’s Starbuck?

Starbuck is a feature film by director Ken Scott inspired by a true story of a bull (named Starbuck, duh) who fathered thousands of children through artificial insemination.

Cue David Wozniak (played by Patrick Huard) – he works a dead-end job as a meat delivery man, just found out his gf is pregnant, owes crazy amounts of money to some thugs, and finds out he’s fathered a few hundred children from his numerous sperm bank donations way back in the day (apparently he has strong swimmers).

Just how many children?

A lot – 533 children in fact; of which 142 or so file a class action lawsuit to find out the identity of their biological father (aka Starbuck…see it’s all coming together!). And so the movie begins as David tries to clean up his act to be a good father to the child his gf is currently carrying as well as helping his 142 other children stay out of trouble without them finding out who he is…all while battling this lawsuit with his best friend, the lawyer.

My thoughts

That's exactly how I felt about the movie! Image credit: http://www.TIFF.net

In two words: Must see!

This is a great movie with an excellent plot, great character development and humour that transcends language (I did mention this film is in French with English subtitles, non?).

Ken Scott’s direction was excellent and Patrick Huard is a stunning Starbuck – extremely believable as the well-meaning David Wozniak. The film is funny, heart-warming and is full of inspiration. The audience laughed (out loud…literally…and very loudly) during the film and once the film ended stood to give the director and actors present a standing ovation!

If I had stars, I’d give it 4.5/5 stars…the movie loses 0.5 stars only because the subtitles need thicker black shadowing as there are scenes where I can’t actually read the subtitles. 😉 Yeah I know I’m a stickler so sue me!

Either way I encourage you all to see it if/when it hits theaters. Totally worth it and I don’t see many movies (except the good ones cos $13 ain’t cheap) so that’s a big deal coming from me!

Disclosure and shout outs: Big thanks to Diet Coke Canada as I won these tickets through their TIFF draw on Twitter.  I wasn’t asked to blog about this at all but seeing as this is my first TIFF movie screening ever, I mean come on!! You know I’m really excited about sharing my thoughts about the movie I ended up falling in love with. 🙂

7 Responses to “My take on Starbuck”

  1. 1 Mike

    It sounds really interesting. It’s exciting to see big buzz around a Canadian movie. There is already talk to remaking it in English so it stands a better chance below the boarder. http://www.toronto.com/article/698902

    • I heard!! I’m not sure where I heard this rumour but someone said Brad Pitt was in talks to play David. 😉

  2. Hi there Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web page on a regular basis, if so afterward you will
    definitely take pleasant experience.

  3. What’s up, this weekend is nice in favor of me, since this time i
    am reading this enormous educational article here at my home.

  4. I got this web page from my friend who told me concerning
    this web site and now this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative articles at this place.

  5. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written much better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  6. What’s up, this weekend is nice in favor of me, for the reason that this moment
    i am reading this great educational piece of writing here at my residence.


Have something to say? Would love to hear your comments!

