Wines of Chile – Notable Thoughts

27Apr11

Last night I attended an amazing Chilean Wine tasting at Spoke Club courtesy of Notable.  It was a night of amazing company and quite a feast for the palette sampling the budding wine that’s coming from our South American friends in Chile.

The Notable Chilean Wine Tasting in a few quick pics. And no I didn’t put a hat on my head for the royal wedding. Just an unfortunate (or is it fortunate?) backdrop! (Forgive the hair…super humid-astic!)

So you’re probably thinking – as a wine n00b, why’d I go to such an event? That’s easy! I’m all about trying new things. Plus, wine has always been hit or miss with me.  Since going to the event, I know why! I have a better understanding for different wines and the flavour, texture and experience I want from my wine.

Notable.ca

Here’s what I learned:

  1. I’m a white wine lover. I went and tasted all the whites on the first round but kept coming back to the Montes Classic Series Sauvignon Blanc. Crisp, light, smooth – a wine for n00bs and veterans alike. It tastes divine chilled and is the kind of light white that I’d pair with just about anything.
  2. I don’t hate red wine. I used to think I hated red wine. Don’t worry reds, it’s not you…it’s me! After a stint at a friend’s party with a rose, I’ve been stubborn trying to find a red that I enjoy. If I can stand a rose, then they can’t all be bad, right? Enter the Gato Negro Merlot (seen being held in the above pic). Smooth, complex flavors but not in the least bit overpowering. Would be a great addition to a juicy steak dinner. Delicious!
  3. Intimate parties allow for more valuable face time. I love, love, LOVE the big events I go to but sometimes these smaller events allow for more conversation of the meaningful variety. Think less drive by hello’s and more delving into details. This was the Goldilocks of events: Not too big. Not too small. Just right!
  4. Know your audience – literally. Julian (founder of Notable) is pretty chill and one thing I admire about him is that he knew the name of everyone he talked to that night. That’s an old school touch that’s important – especially in a world of Twitter handles, avatars and internet memes.

So what’s your take? Did anyone go to the wine tasting have a different experience? Are all wine tastings typically this fabulous? Is there hope for me and wine?

No Responses Yet to “Wines of Chile – Notable Thoughts”

  1. Leave a Comment

Have something to say? Would love to hear your comments!

