You know you’re addicted to Twitter when…

24Jun10
My response to the quake

My response to the quake. (Image credit: xkcd.com)

  • When there’s a natural disaster your first instinct is to tweet the det’s and find shelter after. Ahem, quake of 2010 anyone? *points to self* Guilty.
  • You Twitter client is set to refresh every 5 minutes which is clearly not often enough so you find yourself trying to manually refresh every 60 seconds or so.
  • If you don’t get at least 1 #FF you get upset.
  • You tweet important info – new job, breakup with the gf/bf – before you call your bestie.
  • You tell your spouse to come down to dinner via tweet versus yelling down the hall – that’s barbaric!
  • You add “Tw” before words making your own Twitter version. Examples include tweeps, twevent, twating, etc. Guilty.
  • You get writers block when asked to write more than 140 characters.

My dear friend Jeremy. πŸ™‚ We are #HashTagMafia4Life (Image Credit: DaveFleet.com)

  • You hashtag everything – emails, texts, in-person conversations. Guilty and proud of it! #HashtagMafia4Life
  • You find yourself documenting what people say around you because they make great OH’s! It just sorta happens though….
  • You also find yourself typing @ in front of a person’s name in emails, cards, invitations, etc. Emails.
  • You no longer update Facebook but direct people to Twitpic for a documentary of your life.
  • You get a friend to update your status when you’re on vacation, aka TwitterSitter. I Googled this term when I first heard it. Yes I know someone who did this!
  • You wish you could filter real life conversations like you can on TweetAgora.
  • You worry when Guy Kawasaki doesn’t post something for 30 minutes.
  • When people ask what you’ve been up to, you answer simply with: “Follow me on Twitter.”
  • Your Rolodex & address book is filled with just people’s Twitter handles. Yeah my address book has this but it’s cos not everyone’s Twitter handles is their name…to…which…I am guilty of. Damn!
  • You refer to people in public by their Twitter handles and never by their real names. This has happened to me a lot – people just call me Alisaan now. πŸ˜€
  • Before doing anything – going to sleep, driving your car, heading into the subway – you refresh your Twitter feed to see what you’ve missed.
  • You have a sticker on your car or clothing/pins with your Twitter handles on them and yes you hope the public sees them. Not yet…but I have considered it!

So what are your signals you are a Tweet-a-holic? I know I missed some awesome signs of Tweet-a-hol-ism so you let me know in the comments. πŸ™‚ I need to write them down next time I see my therapist. <—–joke

8 Responses to “You know you’re addicted to Twitter when…”

  1. 1 Dave

    Nice post! And yes, I am most definitely addicted to Twitter! I steer clear of the tw words, and I don’t have a friend provide my updates, but pretty much all of the others apply.

    • Thanks Dave! It came to me yesterday during the earthquake when I realized how silly it was that before worrying about my own safety, I was tweeting about the quake. πŸ˜› I really am addicted to Twitter. I have so many examples – some I care not to mention to save face. HA

      Have any you think I missed? What about:
      * In an emergency you’re more likely to tweet @911 for help then to call. You figure it’s the same thing. πŸ™‚

  2. Great list Aleksandra! I’ve created a follow-up list with my own narative on my “More Josh” site here: http://post.ly/kfng

    I wonder how many more of these things you’d be guilty of too! πŸ™‚


  1. 1 You Know You’re Addicted To Twitter When… | More Josh
  2. 2 29 Warning signs of Twitter addiction | More Josh
  3. 3 29 Warning signs of Twitter addiction | The Josh Gard Project
  4. 4 You Know You’re Addicted To Twitter When… | The Josh Gard Project
  5. 5 29 Warning signs of Twitter addiction | Perfected Chaos

Have something to say? Would love to hear your comments!

