My musings on: Twitter vs. Facebook

30May10

Facebook vs. Twitter

I’ve heard a lot of talk from my Facebook friends about Twitter and they don’t seem to quite get it. Trust me, I wasn’t quite sure how to use it when I first started too but here’s a good quick and dirty way to look at it:

Facebook is for the people you’ve already met.  Twitter is for the people you’re going to meet.

And what I mean by that is that most of the people on my Facebook I’ve met IRL (in real life) and have hung out with…whether it was in elementary school, last night at the bbq, or last month at the beauty parlour (<—do these even exist anymore btw? I digress.). In fact, many of the people I’ve met on Twitter, you’ll find as my Facebook friends too!

How can that be? Well here’s how I see it:  when you hang out a few times IRL, you call/text each other outside of Twitter, you start inviting each other to events/bdays/housewarmings, you do more than tweet nothing at each other and start getting to know people really one-on-one…that’s when I will add them to Facebook. Essentially, when you’ve become friends you add them to Facebook so you can lurk their lives. 😛

Moral of the story – Lurk Moar.

Generalization? To be sure (we haven’t even touched on the pity Facebook friend request acceptances) but I’d like to hear what you think. Do you agree? Disagree? Anything you want to add?

No Responses Yet to “My musings on: Twitter vs. Facebook”

  1. Leave a Comment

Have something to say? Would love to hear your comments!

