3 easy ways to stay on top of your resolutions this year

19Dec09

Moleskin's Away

Happy new year peeps!  I can’t believe it’s that time already – the time of year resolutions are made…and subsequently broken.  Let’s be honest here (we are in a safe environment), how many of you have actually stuck to a resolution for an entire year?   *crickets chirp*

It’s hard, I know.  But here are some great ideas to help you really nip the resolution fail whale in the bud.

  1. Pen & Paper method.  This method is popular because it doesn’t take a technical genius to whip out a small notebook (think Moleskine mini) and a pen to jot something down.  Trying to keep track of your calorie intake to help you eat healthier?  Write it down.  Trying to keep track of money in/out to organize your finances better?  Write it down.  Found a great new diner in an odd place in town?  Write ‘er down.  (You get the picture)  Only problem?  You need to review your notes for it to be an actual reminder.  Awww shucks!  It almost sounded too easy!
  2. My personal favourite is Evernote.  This program captures all that extra stuff you have going on in your brain you’re trying to remember and puts it into the cloud (think data storage in the ether).  It’s a great tool to keep pictures taken on your cell phone (great way to keep track of bday/xmas gift ideas) to voice memos about that great espresso bar your friend took you to.  Mmmmm.  Delicious!
  3. Now if it comes to creating a new habit, you might want to try Habitforge. This site sends you an email every day about your goal and asks if you’ve accomplished it.  Here’s the trick – if you do something for 21 days straight, it’s done!  We celebrate, it’s a good time.  If you fall off the bandwagon before the 21 days is over, the goal resets and you start over again at day 1.  Bottom line?  Although I love the site, it’s useful if you have a goal or two max because for every goal you have, you will receive a separate email reminder.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t need any more emails than I already have so I only recommend this if you have one or two goals (tops) to focus on.

And remember these rules aren’t exclusive – I am using a combination of 1 & 2 for instance.  Here’s a quick look at my system:

  1. Moleskine daily planner (large) – I’m using this planner to capture ideas moreso than a schedule.  It holds the food I eat, the workouts I complete, and the ideas that race around in my brain.
  2. Evernote – I think I’ve already explained my love for Evernote above but just in case I didn’t, it’s a lifesaver!  Great place to store pictures I want to use in my blog, ideas for posts, ideas for people’s birthday gifts, etc.

So there it is – my top 3 tips to stay on top of your resolutions this year.  What are you doing to stay on top of things this year?

4 Responses to “3 easy ways to stay on top of your resolutions this year”

  1. Hі friends, pleasant piece of writing aanԀ good urɡing cpmmented at this place, I am really enjoyin by these.

  2. I have learn several just right stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how a lot attempt you set to make any such fantastic informative website.

  3. 3 Janna

    Goood day! I knmow this is kinhda off topjc but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be intersted in exchanging links or mqybe guest writingg a bkog article orr vice-versa?

    My site oes ovrr a lott oof the ame toopics ass yoours and
    I beliueve we could greatlyy benefgit from eacch other.

    If you happdn tto be interrsted ferel free
    tto shoot me an email. I llook forfward tto hearing from you!
    Awssome blg by the way!


  1. 1 Pinterest – everything you need to know about the social networking site making a stir in 2012 « Famous Last Words

Have something to say? Would love to hear your comments!

